top of page

Sri Jagannatha Conference, meeting an old friend

Independent of the Sri Jagannatha culture, Puri has been a center of creative arts and music for a long time. Oriya as a spoken language in its earlier proto-form is possibly older than Sanskrit. Its word creation is more phonetic than the structured use of Sanskrit. There is no direct theory how Sanskrit language came to be. The etymology of words points back to syllable-oriented sound units. To me the present day Sanskrit appeared as a therapeutic language than a speech language. Vedic Sanskrit was possibly spoken but had variations adapted for local use. Human speech focuses on communication and might not wait for the accuracy of grammar. Conveying in symbols and metaphors is termed Prakrit in literature. Oriya is a good example of Prakrit. Sanskrit did not enter Orissa until about seventh century AD. But it adapted well in the cultural tradition of the State. New literature developed under the influence of Sanskrit. The recitation mode of Sanskrit got into the musical mode through the lyrics of the poet Jayadeva. The analysis of poetic aesthetics developed in Orissa. Is literature a food to the brain or does it heal the mind? The poets in Orissa went on working on the communication aspects of the literature. Strong modes dance and dramatic arts developed from the base of Sanskrit literature. The new transformation of presenting literature as performing arts became the hallmark of Oriya culture. Sri Jagannatha and the temple setting became the hosts for this transformation. Visual arts of painting, carving and performing became the part of human skill development. There was a peculiar synthesis of spiritual endeavor with purely social connotation. Life itself has to be celebrated and any higher order thinking has to emanate from living through the life. Sri Jagannatha was projected as a living Sri Krishna with all the associated frivolousness, knowledge, wisdom and friendship. Sri Jagannatha became the ardent friend who would show up when called. He can be chastised for his delinquency. He can be "owned" if needed.


There is an earthiness in Sri Jagannatha thesis that a God has to be a friend. The man in need seeks physical support and not a blessing. Sri Jagannatha became an icon of such support. He can oversee an event, a home, a field, a kitchen or a war. He was a reminder that the cosmos watches our activity at every moment. We need not hide. He loves our sincerity and truthfulness. He gives us respect, showers us with love and is our friend. We carry him along wherever we go. We feel his presence in everything we do. We do not fail, he carries us along.

The conference in Puri was led by the Faculty from the Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan in Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh. The students and some of the Faculty members read papers in Sanskrit and English. They did focus their efforts on the concept of "navakalevara", its validation through the scriptures, its execution through the ritualistic process and its comparison in world theology. I was offered a flower bouquet on arrival and was invited to speak later.

I chose to speak in Oriya since Sri Jagannatha is an Oriya icon. While I appreciated the efforts of propagating the message through more popular modes of communication, I wanted to offer my thoughts in the tradition of Sri Jagannatha culture. After a few other presentations, it was the lunch break. I had thought of looking for my friend who had settled in Puri. Sri Barada Das and I went on the expedition to discover his abode.

Sri Manas Ranjan Mohanty had been an Army officer in the Engineering Unit when I had met him in Pune in 1970. He was married with a baby. His wife was the daughter of the great Oriya dramatist Sri Manoranjan Das. I knew Sri Das and his family as a kid. Manas established a strong friendship with me and invited me to all of their family outings. We had great time with many other local friends. Everything got shattered as the war broke in 1971. Manas along with many others was called to the front. After the war, I left for the US. We were in mail contact for a while, but then I lost contact. I discovered him again through my younger sister who is married in their family.

Manas retired as a Colonel in the Army and was staying in Puri managing a guest house. The business was left behind from his father. We located the property and went upstairs to meet my friend. Old Army personnel have a warmth and sincerity not easily available in the civilian world. He was utterly friendly and gracious. I was looking at my "older brother" again. With his overgrown moustache, he had the look of a leader ready for action. The house was neat. There was a little girl who acted as the caretaker. Manas's wife was living in Cuttack with their son to assist in he care of their grandchild.

We spent a few hours together. Manas had cooked lunch and we joined in. It was a moment of pure joy and nostalgia. I presented to Manas the sculpture of a jade Buddha I was carrying from Bangkok. He showed me around his handicraft collection. I saw his home shrine. The little girl was around us and was always giggling. She was an orphan. She was sweet and extremely loving. I loved her. I loved Manas. I felt completely at home. After a bit rest, I had to prepare to go to my next meeting. We took a few pictures (pictures are not with me yet). My next meeting was a public reception at a sea-side hotel.


Receptions at private hotels is a western concept. Apparently the owner of the current establishment was a supporter of the Jagannatha Society. We reached at the appointed time of 6 PM. About two hundred chairs were set up in a hall with a dais on one side. The banner of the Conference was getting mounted on the wall. One reserve type middle-aged gentleman walked in. He took his seat in the front. Many of the local organizers greeted him. After some time I thought of introducing myself to him. He was an earlier Member of the Parliament from the area. He got up from his chair and was sincere in his greeting. I realized that I was a senior person in the event.

Some other "dignitaries" showed up. They included a Minister in the central cabinet and a Minister in the State cabinet. These individuals along with Dr Sahu of the US and Dr Satapathy from Tirupati sat on the dais. A local group was invited to perform Odissi dance. They showed short segments depicting the collective spirit of friendship from the Krishna literature.The Ministers and other individuals spoke a bit about the pilgrims and the event. The speeches had a political tone.

As the event was coming to a close, it was announced that I would be given an Award. I had not done anything significant to win an Award. All guests came down to the floor and the Chief Guest wrapped a shawl around me with someone reading a few complimentary words. Though it was nice to be honored in one's home town, it appeared as a token acknowledgement of my presence in the hall. I did accept the shawl on behalf of many scholars who have worked and written about Sri Jagannatha.

A community supper followed. The food was well cooked and tasty. Attired people were serving Indian food in semi-western fashion. Colonialism does not die easily. It was getting late. We had to return to Bhuabneswar. We rushed.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page