top of page

Introduction


Early Indians coined a word "rasa" to assign signature to an object. "rasa" has no physical manifesation but is experienced when we immerse ourselves in our understanding. It is prolific in its variety and is abundant in its scope. It exists in the beauty of the nature and also in its destruction. It is possibly a psychological perception in our mind of the events around us. Loosely "rasa" has ben translated as "essence" in English.


The application of "rasa" in life is in one's creativity. When we marvel at a person's personality, activity, literature, music, art or other forms of endowments, our appreciation transforms into "rasa." There is a subtle joy we feel by accepting the creativity in humility. We also marvel at the enormity of the universe, the minuteness of a germ or the intricacies of life. "rasa" happens when we acknowledge the grandness of the creation.


A few of us in India Discovery Center have been interested in the neuro-physiological process of "rasa" and have spent last several years in meetings, discussions and debates. We thought to present our limited findings at the World Sanskrit Conference that was announced to be held in Bangkok, Thailand from June 28 to July 2, 2015. Prem Nagar, a local computer expert, joined me in undertaking the trip. We presented two papers at the Conference: one on "rasa" and the other one on the evolution of language. In our thinking, all language is propelled by "rasa."


The other team members of our group were Bela Kosaras, a neuroanatomist; Jaspal Singh, a philosopher and Hardeep Mann, a designer. The group has now expanded to add two more persons: Sheshadri Ramaswamy, an Electrical Engineer; and Shiva Gautam, a statistician. We continue our search how "rasa" is conveyed and received. Our thoughts are limited by our own experiences. The idea of writing a travel diary occurred to me on my flight to Boston. I thought about my two grandchildren and imagined a conversation with them. As an immigrant it is not easy to give the children a flavor of the old world and culture. I thought to create a guided tour through my travel story. I reached back in Boston July 29 and I started writing August 1. I wrote from memory. Some of my friends in the tour took some pictures which I have shared along with some site pictures taken by me. I thank Sri Prem Nagar for his friendship and for his encouragement to undertake the trip. He also helped with a few pictures. Other pictures have been supported by my friends Sri Jitendra Patnaik in Mumbai, Sri Soumya Ranjan Swain in Allahabad and Gaya, Dr Samapadananada Mishra in Pondicerry, Prof Siniruddha Dash in Chennai, Prof. Sodanada Torasia and Sri Rajib Mishra in Bhuabaneswar, and Prof. Girish Nath Jha in Delhi. Dr Darith Phat helped me with logistics in Cambodia and Dr Laxmicharan Padhy helped through the travel in India. The diary began as a email document circulated among a few associates. Several people wrote to encourage me to help complete the exercise. I fondly recall the compliments from my old friend Sri Saradindu Misra, my yoga colleagues Mr. John Featherstone, Mr Mike Vecchi and Ms. Melanie DeNittis, Indian-American media personality Sri Harish Dang and Harvard musician Mr. Dale Riley. I am thankful to all who variously wrote appreciative letters.

Travel diaries are supposed to recreate the travel scene to the reader. I took the task as a grandfather's potential story-telling. I am grateful to scores of my friends and family members to have supported my journey at various times. Any perceived error in my observations is entirely mine. I am thankful to my writer friend Sulochana Patnaik for a proof-reading. I ask the readers' forgiveness for any errors which might still remain I offer this blog to myriads of immigrants who try to look for their roots in the old country.





RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page