top of page

Dinner walk in Siem Reap


I had been thinking about Dr. Darith. A bright studentt, he grew up in Cambodia and came to France for higher studies. After a PhD he worked in the US. I met him in Boston at the Ramakrishna Vedanta Society. Father of two children, he was helpful in organizing activities at the Vedanta Society and also got interested yoga studies through another group with which I was associated. He took special interest with children and took charge of the Vedanta Children's Center, the Sunday School. Late Swami Sarvagatananda in Ramakrishan Center recruited him to run the annual children's camp and meditation retreat on behalf of the Vedanta Society. Swami until his passing away in 2009 was the architect of a volunteer service group where Dr. Darith remained an active member. Having been concerned with the poor health care facilities in the Asian countries, Dr. Darith founded a nonprofit organization with an aim to manufacture cheaper drugs in the developing countries. In course of time, he committed himself to return back to Cambodia in order to make grass root efforts in rebuilding the country. He left his family in the US and was in Cambodia in order to fulfill this mission. I was associated with him in his efforts while in the US and was very interested to learn of his work among his people. Colonization is an exploitation process. I have not figured out how seemingly good-natured people proceed forward to exploit innocent people in far away lands. Native people through their own nature trust others and the colonizers dupe them with pretensions resulting in eventual occupation of the natives' lands. By the time the colonizers get tired and "declare" freedom to the native people, they succeed in creating divisions and rivalry such that there would be serious difficulty in reconstruction. Most of south Asia is currently in this troubled disorganization. It is not easy to rediscover the glory of the old culture. There does arise a permanent dependence on the "colonizers" to help create a stable society.

I have been disturbed by observing India, my country of origin. Though the old culture did not die, the new young men and women only have superficial relationship to the culture. Many of us live abroad through various rationalizations. The leaders who come forward to rule the country in the democratic set up get corrupt easily. The pride of the national character gets buried in the struggle for daily existence. I cannot but admire the bold move by Dr. Darith to dedicate his life to rebuild his country. It is a model for many of us.

My computer was my only communication medium to remote stations. Dr. Darith had left message that he would meet me the next day morning. I suggested that we could go together to the Cambodian National Museum in the afternoon. The curator of the Museum had visited the Bangkok conference and had met me there. I had arranged with her regarding my prospective visit to the Museum. Dr. Darith said that we meet on breakfast and then again at lunch. I agreed.

I had to pick up my laundry from the store next door. The lady there was like an aunt - nice, simple and loving. The laundry order was received by the weight of the clothes. A kilogram of clothes, cleaned and pressed, would cost just a dollar. I was amazed and puzzled at the cheaper value of the manual labor. These were the people whose ancestors had built those magnificent structures that I was visiting. Why were they being abused for their labor now? I gave her five dollars asking her to keep the extra dollar, but she could not understand and returned back the dollar. Tipping is not accepted, we are artisans!

I visited the Korean friends in the coffee shop. They were busy with Korean tourists who had come to visit the monuments. Apparently people choose Cambodia for cheap vacations. Farm production is plenty because of the fertile soil and the standard of living was low because of low literacy. I felt deeply for the people and agonized how a decent society had been reduced to an impoverished condition.

I took a long walk and finally settled at the same restaurant where I had dined the previous night. They recognized me and were cordial. I thought about the minimum wage and the restaurant service. I was imagining the daily life of an average serving person. Most likely they accept what they are given. They do not know how to complain. The poor has little voice in the world! They are possibly told that the occupation by the foreigners was far worse!




RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page